Skip Navigation

What You Need to Know About Gluten-Free Sweet Treats

What You Need to Know About Gluten-Free Sweet Treats

If you or your loved ones are gluten-free, come on over to your local Wockenfuss Candies for delicious, SAFE holiday treats!

Now that Thanksgiving is behind us, other significant holidays are coming up on the calendar. There are Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa to think about – three more occasions that have celebratory traditions – and a big part of any celebration is the sweet treats you enjoy!

Pure Chocolate

Since pure chocolate comes from the cacao bean, it is already gluten-free. You might wonder, then, what the problem is, but many additives that are used in the production of commercial-grade chocolate can add gluten to gluten-free foods. Gluten particles can even be left on the packaging, so the foods and ingredients that are gluten-free could become agglutinated through accidental exposure. Besides, it’s the different fillings, flavors, and toppings – many containing gluten –  that make chocolate so popular!

What Does Being Gluten-Free Mean?

Gluten is a protein that is present in many types of grain. The most common grain with which gluten is associated is wheat and wheat by-products. Anyone who has a sensitivity or a condition known as celiac disease won’t be able to digest it, and they will have some unpleasant side effects after eating it. Barley, rye, and triticale, which is a cross between wheat and rye, all contain gluten. Many pastries, cakes, and pies all be made gluten-free, but for some of the most decadent desserts such as tiramisu, producing an equivalent alternative is nearly impossible.

Wockenfuss Candies Knows the Importance of Gluten-Free Sweet Treats

This holiday season, you won’t want any of your friends and loved ones to feel ignored or frustrated by not being able to enjoy everything on your holiday table. Wockenfuss Candies wants as many people as possible to be able to enjoy our delicious treats; that’s why we’ve made some changes to ensure that many of them are free of cross-contamination! While our delicious chocolate-covered pretzels are not gluten-free, they are made separately from other treats to make sure that no gluten makes it onto other sweets. We also use rice flour instead of wheat flour as a dusting agent to ensure the treats aren’t agglutinated that way. Aside from chocolate-covered creams, nuts, and chewies, nearly all of our treats are safe from cross-contamination!

If you or your loved ones are gluten-free, come on over to your local Wockenfuss Candies for delicious, SAFE holiday treats!

A Wide Selection of Chocolate Treats from Wockenfuss Candies

Head to and browse our wide selection of chocolates and candies; we promise you won’t be disappointed! Wockenfuss Candies is one of the oldest candy makers in Baltimore. We opened our doors in 1915 and have proudly served the people of Baltimore ever since. If you have any questions about our wide selection of chocolates, please contact Wockenfuss Candies by calling 1-800-296-4414 or email When you’re not savoring our sweets, stay satisfied by following us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest!

This entry was posted on Friday, December 6th, 2019 at 12:11 pm. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Want a sweet deal?
Sign-up to receive emails and save 10% off your first order.